Valencia and South Korea’s talented young players are beginning to face military service issues, the Olympic Games postponement or missed opportunities

  • A+

Since Tottenham’s South Korean star Sun Xingmin has returned to his home in South Korea during the epidemic, he has decided to make full use of this football’s “gap period” to implement South Korea’s 4-week minimum military service requirements.

He led the national team to the gold medal in the 2018 Asian Games, which freed him from military service, but still required four weeks of military training. Four weeks is the minimum requirement. Ordinary Korean men usually have to complete about two years of military service between the ages of 19 and 29 (20-30 according to the Korean age).

Of course there are exceptions, but military service can be reduced or exempted only in very rare circumstances, such as making a huge contribution to the country due to personal behavior. Time, if the athletes take the team to the top 8 of the World Cup, the Olympic gold, silver and bronze medalists; the Asian Games gold medalists; the team event champion must be a player on the field, and players who have not played are not exempted.

Valencia’s South Korean talented midfielder Lee Gang-in also began to face the same problems as Sun Xingmin. Li Gangren was born in 2001 and transferred from the K Incheon United Youth Team to the La Liga Valencia Football Club Youth Team at the age of 10. This season, he has played 11 times in the first team of Valencia and scored one goal.

Now Li Gangren is 19 years old and he is old enough to serve in the military, although like Sun Xingmin, he has enough Time to fight for military service relief. But there is no doubt that the Olympics is the best opportunity for him at his age, but he doesn't seem to care. At the U23 Asian Cup at the beginning of the year, he directly gave up this opportunity. Now the Korean U23 team is full of talents, and the postponement of the Olympics will increase. The pressure of being selected for the national team, especially for their "skip players", after all, no one knows how they will be in 4 years.

Last summer, it was his first appearance on the international arena. He led the Korean team to the World Youth Championship finals and won the Golden Globe Award. Although it was a 0-1 defeat against Ukraine in the final, it can also be seen that this U20 South Korean youth team is very strong. There are many netizens on the Internet willing to exempt them from military service, but the rules are the rules, the World Youth Championship Even winning the championship is not exempt from military service.

Because athletes’ sports career is relatively short, and the period from 19 to 29 is likely to be their peak of sports , The military service system will have a huge impact on their careers. In addition to the greatly reduced income, it is also difficult to maintain a sporting state in the army. Many Korean athletes are desperate to compete for medals in international competitions in order to reduce or exempt military service.

(Supine Support/Grec.)

Comment

You must log in To comment

巴伦西亚韩国天才小将开始面临兵役问题,奥运会延期或错失良机

  • A+

由于热刺队的韩国球星孙兴慜在疫情期间已经返回韩国家中,因此他已经决定将充分利用这段足球的“空档期”来执行韩国为期4周的最低兵役要求。

他在2018年亚运会带领国家队拿到了金牌,这使得他免除了兵役,但是仍需接受为期四周的军事训练。四个星期是最低要求,普通的韩国男性通常要在19到29岁(按照韩国年龄算20到30岁)之间完成两年左右时间的兵役。

当然也有例外,但是只有在因为个人行为而为国家做出巨大贡献等极个别情况下才能减免兵役时间,运动员的话如将球队带入世界杯8强,奥运会的金银铜牌获得者;亚运会金牌获得者;集体项目冠军必须是上场队员,未出场的选手则无法免除。

巴伦西亚的韩国天才中场小将李刚仁也开始面临和孙兴慜一样的问题。李刚仁2001年出生,10岁就从K仁川联青年队转会至西甲巴伦西亚足球俱乐部青年队。本赛季在瓦伦西亚一线队有过11次出场,并且有一粒进球。

如今李刚仁已经19岁了,到了可以服兵役的年纪了,虽然就像孙兴慜一样,他有足够的时间来争取减免兵役。但毫无疑问,奥运会是他这个年纪最好的机会,不过他似乎并不在意,年初的U23亚洲杯,他就直接放弃了这次机会,如今韩国队U23人才济济,奥运会延期更是会增加入选国家队的压力,特别是对于他们这种“跳级球员”来说,毕竟4年后的状态,谁也不知道。

去年夏天,是他在国际赛场上的首次亮相。他带领韩国队打进了世青赛决赛,并且获得了赛事的金球奖。虽然在决赛时0-1惜败与乌克兰,但也能看出这届U20韩国青年队实力非常强劲,网上有非常多的网友就在网上情愿希望为他们免除兵役,但是规矩就是规矩,世青赛即使获得冠军也无法免除兵役。

因为运动员的运动生涯比较短暂,而19到29岁这段时间很有可能是他们的运动巅峰期,兵役制度会对他们的职业生涯产生了巨大影响。除了收入大大减少外,运动状态在部队里也很难保持,许多韩国运动员拼了命去争夺国际大赛的奖牌,就是为了减免兵役。

(仰卧撑/Grec.)

发表评论

您必须登录才能发表评论!