What is school football in the UK? What is different?

  • A+

What is BUCS

BUCS (British University & College Sports) is the management organization of higher education sports in the UK. It is a membership organization and a limited company guaranteed by charitable organizations. BUCS was established in June 2008. It was formed by the merger of the former BISA (British Universities Sports Association) and UCS (University College Sport), committed to "creating the best university sports experience in the world." BUCS is responsible for organizing more than 50 sports activities between more than 170 universities and colleges in the UK (approximately more than 5,800 teams participate in 120 championships each year), as well as the organization of the World University Championships and the World University Games representative teams.

The above are all components of the BUCS domestic competition. Taekwondo is not one of the main events but students are encouraged to participate in the

BUCS football league system

The BUCS Football League is the largest sport in British higher education, with more than 450 male and female teams competing in 100 different leagues.

The league is divided into two Premier-level regions, north and south, covering five regions in Scotland, north, central, west and southeast. Each of these five regions has a top regional league (Tier 1), and the lower ones will be further divided into A, B, C grades based on geography. Men's football has a total of seven levels (Premier to Tier 7), while women's football has five levels (Premier to Tier 4).

In addition to the lowest level in each area, each level has six teams participating. Leagues with six or less teams adopt a home and away double-round system, while those with seven or more teams will only play one game at home or away. The winners and runners-up of the two Premier divisions will play in the Championship finals in a knockout manner. Tier 1 teams enter the Trophy finals, and Tier 2 and lower finals will be the Conference Cup. Every year, the bottom of the Premier level and the Tier 1 champion team will have a promotion and promotion playoff at the end of the season. The promotion and promotion between the remaining groups will be completed automatically according to the ranking, and there will be no playoffs.

Legend of BUCS Football League Structure (for reference only)

Why British campus football only stays on campus

Many friends know Many professional clubs in the United States will select talents from colleges and universities through campus sports events, but this is not the case in the United Kingdom. British campus football faces semi-professional athletes rather than professional athletes. Those who want to become professional athletes often take another development path. The British professional club system is very mature and saturated. Every town or even a small village will have its own football team, and they will also be supported by the local people. Throughout the entire English football league system, there are more than 140 independent leagues, more than 480 groups, and a total of 7000+ football teams (5300+ clubs). It was also mentioned in our previous video, pure professional clubs. There are also as many as 92, which is completely unmatched by American football. Among them, Lanka County has the largest number of teams. The following picture shows the distribution and level of teams in Greater Manchester and Merseyside. You can feel it.

The distribution and level of Manchester and Merseyside teams

​​This situation has directly led to the fact that “going to college” and “playing professionally” in the UK have become With two completely different paths, almost no one will want to become a professional player by playing on the school team, and their school team experience will not help players develop their career paths. Students play campus football only out of love, even if their level in the school team is very high, it is limited to students, and it is completely incomparable to professional or even semi-professional.


Some personal experiences and feelings of the door

The atmosphere of football in the United Kingdom is really nothing to say, so that in fact, the BUCS official promotion of football is far less powerful than some other projects. , Such as rugby, cricket, hockey, etc. But this will not affect the enthusiasm of the students in the school for football. During the school, I have watched the games between the various colleges in the school. The finals were in March, but at that time the UK was experiencing the strongest wave of cold. In the evening, the temperature became icy, but the sidelines were still full of students who came to support their colleges. They may come to the scene half an hour to an hour earlier with a dozen beers. Some colleges even have their own chants, which can be applied to everyone instead of basically changing the lyrics. (Of course, there are also chants, usually for players ), is really their own chant! Cheers and cheers resounded through the sports center, and I couldn't imagine that this was just a game between two academies within a school.

Students who play well in the school team often sign with some local semi-professional teams. Of course, as mentioned earlier, some will also be selected to represent the national team in competitions.

Durham University Floodlit Final: Collingwood A vs St. Cuthbert's A

Question link

If you have any questions, please leave us a message ~

Comment

You must log in To comment

英国校园足球是什么样?有什么与众不同之处?

  • A+

什么是BUCS

BUCS(British University & College Sports)是英国高等教育体育的管理机构,属于会员制组织,也是由慈善机构担保的有限公司。BUCS成立于2008年6月,由曾经的BUSA(British Universities Sports Association)和UCS(University College Sport)合并组成,致力于“创造全世界最好的大学体育体验”。BUCS负责组织全英170余所大学与学院之间50多项运动的体育活动(每年大约有超过5800支队伍参加120项锦标赛),以及组织世界大学锦标赛和世界大学生运动会的代表队。

以上均为BUCS国内比赛的组成项目,其中跆拳道还不是主要项目之一但鼓励学生参与

BUCS足球联赛制度

BUCS足球联赛是英国高等教育中规模最大的一项运动,有超过450支男女队伍在100个不同的联赛里进行比赛。

联赛分为南北两个Premier级别的大区,共覆盖苏格兰、北部、中部、西部和东南部五个地区。这五个区域中每个区域都有顶级区域联赛(Tier 1),再低一些的会进一步基于地理划分为A,B,C级等。男足总共有七个级别(Premier到Tier 7),而女足则有五级(Premier到Tier 4)。

除了每个区域里最低级别以外,每一级都有六支队伍参赛。六支或六支球队一下的级别联赛采取主客场双回合制,而有七支或七支以上队伍的级别则只在主场或客场踢一场。两个Premier大区赛的冠亚军将以淘汰赛的方式进行Championship总决赛,Tier 1队伍进入Trophy总决赛,Tier 2及以下级别的总决赛为Conference Cup。每年Premier级别垫底的队伍和Tier 1级别的冠军队伍会在赛季末进行升降级的附加赛,其余组别之间的升降级按照排名自动完成,没有附加赛。

BUCS Football League Structure 图例(仅供参考)

为什么英国校园足球仅仅停留在校园

很多朋友都了解过美国很多职业俱乐部都会通过校园体育赛事从高校选拔人才,但英国并非如此,英国的校园足球面对的是半职业运动员而非职业,想要成为职业运动员的往往会是另外的发展道路。英国职业俱乐部体系已经非常成熟也十分饱和了,每个城镇甚至小村庄都会有自己的足球队,他们也都会受到当地人民的支持。纵观整个英格兰足球联赛体系,140多个独立联赛,480余个组别,共计有7000+支足球队(5300+家俱乐部),之前在我们的一期视频里也有提到过,纯职业俱乐部也多达92家,这是美国足球完全无法与之相提并论的。其中,以兰卡郡的球队数量最多,下图是大曼彻斯特和默西赛德地区球队分布和所在级别,大家可以感受一下。

曼彻斯特和默西赛德地区球队分布及所在级别

这样的现状直接导致了在英国“上大学”和“踢职业”成为了两条截然不同的路,几乎不会有人会想通过在校队踢球而成为职业球员,他们的校队经历也不会有助于球员发展职业道路。学生踢校园足球仅仅是出于热爱,即使他们在校队的水平很高那也仅限于在学生范围内,完全无法与职业甚至是半职业相比。

门门的一些个人经历与感受

英国的足球氛围真的是没得说,以至于其实BUCS官方其实对足球的宣传推广力度远不如其他一些项目,比如橄榄球、板球、曲棍球等。但这完全不会影响在校学生们对于足球的热情,门门在校期间有看过校内各个学院之间的比赛,决赛是在3月,但当时英国正经历着最强的一波寒流,晚上呼气成冰的温度,但场边还是聚满了来支持各自学院的学生们。他们可能会提前半个小时到一个小时提着一打啤酒就来到现场,有的学院甚至有自己的chant,不是基本改改歌词就谁都适用的chant(当然这也有,一般是唱给球员的),是真的他们自己的chant!欢呼声加油声响彻运动中心,丝毫不能想象这仅仅是一个学校内部两个学院的比赛。

校队里踢得好的学生往往也会签约当地一些半职业球队,当然正如前面所说的,有的也会被选中代表国家队参加比赛。

Durham University Floodlit Final: Collingwood A vs St. Cuthbert's A

提问环节

大家有什么问题留言给我们呀~

发表评论

您必须登录才能发表评论!